The tomb of king Sethi The First KV17

Sadly, the tomb was heavily damaged by researchers during the 19th century. 

 The sarcophagus was removed on behalf of the British consul Henry Salt is since 1824 in the Sir John Soane's Museum in London.

Priceless decorations gracing the walls, ceilings, pillars, etc. were also damaged by Jean-Francois Champollion, the translator of the Rosetta stone who explored the tomb during 1828-1829. He removed a wall panel in one of the tomb's corridors.

 Other wall paintings were taken by a German research team in 1845  Rosellini. The beautiful images that were stolen from the tomb’s walls are now parts of elite museum collections in Berlin, Paris, and Florence, amongst other locations.

 A number of walls in the tomb have collapsed or cracked due to excavations in the late 1950s and early 1960s causing significant changes in the moisture levels in the surrounding rocks